Okay, I'm not officially restarting my blogging yet, but I'm getting close. However, I needed a place to post an entry today to ask a question, so I'm using this blog for now.
On Friday I got this message:
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Feb. 4 2009, one company which self-styled "Rytec Soft Inc." is applying to register "globetrackr" as internet brand and domain names as below:
globetrackr.asia
globetrackr.cn
globetrackr.com.cn
globetrackr.com.tw
globetrackr.in
globetrackr.net.cn
globetrackr.org.cn
globetrackr.tw
globetrackr.com.hk
globetrackr.hk
After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration is as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company and this "Rytec Soft Inc." as the same company, there is no need reply to us, we will accept their application and will register those for them immediately.
If your company has no relationships with that company or do not authorized, please reply to us within 10 workdays, if we can't get any information from yours over 10 workdays, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Rytec Soft Inc."
Thanks for your cooperation.
Best Regards,
Allen Chen
Senior Consultant
( Tel: +0085-2-3178-1989 ( Fax: +0085-2-3175-8227
Website: http://www.registry-china.sh.cn
Address:5/F,Max share Centre,373 King's Road North Point, Hongkong
It seems like a legitimate enough email message, so I responded with this:
Hello Mr. Chen,
Thank you for contacting me. My company currently retains the domain globetrackr.com and uses the name GlobeTrackr as a copyrighted name and internet brand. Our company is Pointe 730, LLC, a registered LLC in the state of Arizona, USA.
We are not associated in any way with Rytec Soft Inc.
Thank you for your consideration.
Blake Schwendiman
Managing Partner
Pointe 730, LLC
This morning I received this message:
Hello Blake,
Many thanks for your confirmation.
If your company has no relationship with the"Rytec Soft Inc.", we conclude that company is your emulant, or "Rytec Soft Inc." is most likely to intend preempting registration of Domain names in advance, to speculate, invest or uses in unknown purpose in future. Of course, this is only our guess, just for your reference.
You know that your company only owns the domain name www.globetrackr.com rather than the other's we refered. And you must the domain name regiatration is open all over the world and the rule is "first register,first obtain", we as the domain name registration service in China has no right to reject their application. What we can do is to inform you of this information and dispute their domain names for your company before they succeed in registration.(no service charge). But you must register these domain names under your company's name.
Besides, if you want to protect these domain names in Asia, please let us know as soon as possible, and then we will send you the regsitration procedure and the formal application form. You fill in the form and send to us attached with your company's documentary evidence(business license or brand proof etc., copy will be ok). When we get your application form and your relevant documents, we will suspend Rytec Soft Inc's application and protect these domains for your company. Because the time is limited, please contact us in time. Thank you for your cooperation.
Best regards,
Allen Chen
Senior Consultant
( Tel: +0085-2-3178-1989 ( Fax: +0085-2-3175-8227
Website: http://www.registry-china.sh.cn
Address:5/F,Max share Centre,373 King's Road North Point, Hongkong
So, I'm sitting here wondering if this is just a new scam to get me to register more domain names. I'm wondering if other people are seeing this, too. Personally I'm not really worried about IP infringement on GlobeTrackr because I haven't been actively managing that site for some time, but I am wondering if this company is using scare tactics and misinformation to grow their registrar business.
Anyone know?